Department of Foreign Languages

About Department: Faculty and Staff

Robert Simon

Professor of Portuguese and Spanish

Contact Information

Office: Pilcher (PS 375), Room 212
Phone: 470-578-3366
Fax: 470-578-9135


Dr. Simon instructs courses in the areas of Hispanic and Lusophone cultures and literatures, Portuguese language, and Spanish language. Among his research interests, presentations and publications are his studies of the presence of surrealism, mysticism, postmodernism, the un-centered subject, and the notion of the paradigm shift through literary and cultural manifestations vis-à-vis Contemporary Iberian poetry. He has also written on themes of nationality in the Post-colonial context of Luso-African literatures (African literatures in Portuguese language), particularly Contemporary Angolan poetry, as well as on the presence of the Postcolonial voice in Iberian poetics. His own original poetry, composed in English, Portuguese, and Spanish, elaborates on the themes of love, travel, and self-imposed barriers to interpersonal relationships and communication.

Dr. Simon currently serves as Coordinator of the Department of Foreign Languages Portuguese Program. He is creator and current webmaster for Poetry in the Department of Foreign Languages, the creator and former Editor-in-Chief (2008-2011) of The Kennesaw Tower, and the former Vice-President (2008-2010) of the Georgia Poetry Society.

Dr. Simon's CV




Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
B.A., Boston University
M.A., Boston University

Faculty and Staff

Amparan, Bernardo
An, Eunyoung
Ao, Yumin
Arafa, Mohamed
Askildson, Virginie
Ayala, Rosana
Barahona-Murphy, Elyse
Bernardy, Anja
Berwald, Olaf
Burnette, Anita (Nina)
Bursei, Thomas
Cardona, Wilma
Carlson, Sabina
Constantin, Magdalena
Creekmur, Renata
Cruz-Abazeri, Ana
Cruz-Ortiz, Jaime
Davis, Akiko
Drought, Wendy
Elley, Kristen
Estrella, Susanne
Ewing, Gregory
Fallu, Caroline
Ferrani, Ouali
Figueroa, Neysa
Francois, Sonja
Garcia, Audrey
Gasparini, Alex
Graf, Karen
Griffin, William
Guglielmi, Luc
Hashimoto, Mihoko (Mimi)
Hinckley, Maria
Holton, Molly
Hoyt, Kristin
Huang, Sha
Jende, Yvonne
Jin, Wenhua
Jones, Joan
Kelley, Susanne
Kepler, Maria
Kirk, Jeff
Ko, Grace
Koch, Christine
Larrotta, Claudia
Larrotta, Rodney
Laval, June
Lee, Jeongyi
Léger, Thierry
Lucchi, Alberto
Manning, Marni
McLaughlin, Noah
Melo, Andréa
Meng, Liuxi
Munoz, Susan
Nagai, Midori
Negrelli, Kathryn
Niehoff, Viviane
Padan, Ruth
Powell, Marsha
Raburn, Michael
Ribeiro, Lucia
Ryburn, Ligia
Santini, Federica
Schramm, Maria
Silva, Ernesto
Simon, Robert
Smith, Sabine
Solovjov, Larisa
Sommer, Tomoko
Summey, Jennifer
Swami, Sita
Tilbian, Patricia
Viakinnou-Brinson, Lucie
Ward, Cameron
Ward, Janet
Watts, Alan
Webb, Allison
Weber, Elisabetta
Wood, Patricia
Würtz-Hurley, Stefanie