Department of Foreign Languages

About Department: Faculty and Staff

Kristin Hoyt

Assistant Chair, Department of Foreign Languages
Associate Professor of Foreign Language Education

Contact Information

Office: Pilcher (PS 375), Room 145
Phone: 470-578-6449
Fax: 470-578-9135


Dr. Kristin Hoyt is Associate Professor of French and Foreign Language Education and serves as Assistant Chair of the Department of Foreign Languages. She teaches methods courses for both undergraduate and graduate FLED programs and also teaches various levels of undergraduate French. She serves as the FLED Coordinator for Field Experiences and is collaborating with Drs. Terantino and George on an ACTFL-funded Research Priorities project related to innovative work using the Instructional Field Observation Rounds Model (INFORM)for the field experiences component of FLED methods courses.

Dr. Hoyt has prior K-12 teaching experience and has broad experience with pre-service and in-service language teachers, as well as international visiting educators teaching foreign languages in US schools. As she continues in this work, much of her current outreach focuses on supporting professional exchange with foreign language teachers in P-12 schools and strengthening P-16 partnerships in and around metro Atlanta through collaboration; and currently, she is serving as Chair of KSU’s FLED Advisory Board.

Dr. Hoyt is engaged in ongoing classroom-based research related to advancing intercultural competence in language learners and has presented and published on her work. She is also actively presenting and publishing on her co-investigation with Dr. Paula Garrett-Rucks (Georgia State University) on integrated models for the preparation of foreign languages teachers that are focused on equipping P-12 language teachers for effectively teaching culture.


Faculty and Staff

Agossou, Hinnouho
Amparan, Bernardo
Ao, Yumin
Arafa, Mohamed
Askildson, Virginie
Ayala, Rosana
Bernardy, Anja
Berwald, Olaf
Constantin, Magdalena
Creekmur, Renata
Crooks, Susan
Cruz-Abazeri, Ana
Cruz-Ortiz, Jaime
Di Pietro, Vincenzo
Elley, Kristen
Estrella, Susanne
Ewing, Gregory
Fallu, Caroline
Fedeli, Lynn
Ferrani, Ouali
Figueroa, Neysa
Francois, Sonja
Garcia, Audrey
Gasparini, Alex
George, Angela
Graf, Karen
Griffin, William
Guglielmi, Luc
Hinckley, Maria
Hinton, Adara
Holton, Molly
Hoyt, Kristin
Inscoe, Frank
Jin, Wenhua
Jones, Joan
Kelley, Susanne
Kim, Bo Kyoung
Kirk, Jeff
Lane, Nicole
Larrotta, Rodney
Larrotta, Claudia
Laval, June
Lee, Jeongyi
Léger, Thierry
Lonji, Felix
Lucchi, Alberto
Manning, Marni
Martin, Julie
Mathis, Mihoko
McLaughlin, Noah
Meng, Liuxi
Naderi, Georgia
Nagai, Midori
Negrelli, Kathryn
Niehoff, Viviane
Padan, Ruth
Pires, Alessandra
Powell, Marsha
Quillen, Diana
Raburn, Michael
Reclaw, Thomas
Ribeiro, Lucia
Ryburn, Ligia
Santini, Federica
Schramm, Maria
Silva, Ernesto
Simon, Robert
Smith, Sabine
Solovjov, Larisa
Starcevic, Aleksandra
Stevens, April
Summey, Jennifer
Tarvin, Stewart
Terantino, Joseph
Tilbian, Patricia
Viakinnou-Brinson, Lucie
von Klitzing, Sherry
Wang-Costello, Rong (Laura)
Ward, Janet
Weber, Elisabetta
West, Todd
Wood, Patricia
Würtz-Hurley, Stefanie
Zanatta, Rosangela
Zhao, Hong (Elizabeth)
Zhou, Yan